Hormonal Review – Are You Sitting Comfortably?

As of yesterday I am on a 30-day writing challenge and so I decided to review the 18-month period January 2015 – July 2016. Commonly known to me as my hard-core junkie period.

So to summarise…

In December 2014 where I left you all last time – hormonally as it were – I went to the doctor in the UK. I was still feeling rather crap on a daily basis. In fact I had published my first book The Darling Menopause┬áthat very month on exactly how crap I had been feeling for some time.

I had finally looked up some information and seen that it was actually as such rather dangerous to be taking an HRT estrogen alone tablet.

 

I was confused and asked the doctor about it

I hadn’t had this before, as HRT progesterone can make you mentally unstable according to my doctor. Well what she actually said was that they made mood swings worse and she had decided it would be safer for the world at large if I didn’t take them.

The doctor then DID prescribe me some HRT progesterone tablets to go with other HRT tablets I was taking and I duly left her office clutching my latest stash.

You need progesterone to balance too much estrogen. You need the progesterone to clean out your uterus of toxic waste. Until that time I didn’t know either that uteruses are harbingers of toxic waste but there we go.

So I came back to Dar es Salaam and from January 2015 to July 2015 I was on increasing doses of HRT but not feeling better.

The worse I felt the more estrogen I was supposed to take. The less I slept the more xanax and ciprolax I took. You get the picture. Hamsters in hamster wheels spring to mind really.

 

Hope you are taking notes gals and guys of what NOT to do

In March 2015 I started my 10 day-course of progesterone tablets. This was to wash out my uterus (!) and then I would take them for 10 days every 3 months, after being cleansed of my toxic build-up. And everything would be all fine and dandy.

Hmmm.

You know of course dear readers that it didn’t turn out like that at all. Full details will be revealed in a few days. Remember this is just the summary.

Fast forward to July 2015 when I told the doctor in the UK about my terrible reaction to progesterone. Actually I think she may have been a bit pissed off with me being so special. So, she stared at me and then said, “Ok why don’t we just whip it out…”

“Whip what out?” I asked, having no idea what she was talking about. You will have to wait until next week to find out what “it” is. I will leave you guessing.

Moving swiftly on…

 

October 2015 saw me having a doppler scan

I don’t know what the doppler bit is, but scan you know. I mentioned to the doctor that my legs were sore every day. A peri-menopausal symptom I had always been told. He said somewhat CASUALLY, as these life changing moments often are, that it might be the HRT making it worse and that I should see the visiting gynecologist who was in Dar es Salaam for 2 months.

I hot-footed it to her office.

No I didn’t obviously, you know me better than that. I was incapable of hot-footing myself anywhere. But I did see her at the end of November, which was positively speedy for me, given the amount of tablets I was taking…

She finally got to grips with the THIS pill then, and the THAT pill in the afternoon and then the OTHER ONE multiplied if I felt crap. There was also the gel in case I had a funny turn. Plus the xanax and ciprolax. She did take rather a long time to understand it all and I had to repeat myself several times before she was clear. I had brought all of my stash to show her, in a small suitcase just in case.

She hesitated and then said… ……….

I nearly fell off my chair.

Oh happy days – all I can say is that the rest of November and December were VERY exciting. Not necessarily all in a good way, but very exciting nevertheless.

January – June 2016 has been the “getting off the rest of my drugs period”. I am very proud to say that I am now completely drug free and have been since May this year. Well except for vitamin C and magnesium but they don’t count as Class As. If you take too much Vitamin C it just makes you pee. Not dangerous and brain altering in any way, unlike Xanax…

So now that you have the summary, I hope you will enjoy all the details along the way knowing that I am still very much alive and kicking!

2 thoughts on “Hormonal Review – Are You Sitting Comfortably?

  1. A heartfelt thank for all the research you are doing on behalf of womankind! I am just sorry that you have to be th guineapig but it so useful to have a guide as to what to do, and more importantly, what NOT to do.

    • dear nel,

      thanks a lot for your comment. much appreciated. I agree what NOT to do is as important as what TO DO. It is also hard if it is a vulnerable period in your life as well to make the right decisions, particularly if you don’t have the right info. I did reply before but my magic machine is telling me I didn’t !! xx

Leave a Comment